Louisiana Schools Show Strong Interest in Farm to School

49 Louisiana Schools Submit Applications to Expand and Create Farm to School Activities 

The application period for Louisiana's Seed Change mini-grant closed yesterday bringing in 49 completed applications from Louisiana schools, preschools and school districts. The $5,000 mini grants will support existing farm to school activities or jump-start planning and implementation of existing and first time farm to school activities at the school or district level. The project will be coordinated locally by Louisiana Farm to School Alliance partners at Market Umbrella who will lead statewide outreach efforts, trainings and technical assistance to create a vibrant and active farm to school network in each state for long term program sustainability. 

With this mini grant program the National Farm to School Network intends to build the capacity of schools and school districts in Louisiana, Kentucky, and Pennsylvania to implement and expand farm to school activities across the state. 

Grant Review Process and Timeline

All mini grant applications will be sorted using automated workflow in the online grant management system  so that each state review committee will only review applications from their own state. 

Initial review and scoring: June 16 – July 6, 2015

Final Review and decisions: July 7 – July 14, 2015 ((made by State Coordinators and National Farm to School staff)

Announcement of awards to applicants: beginning July 15, 2015

Formal announcement to public: mid August, 2015

About Seed Change

Seed Change is an initiative by the National Farm to School Network aimed at growing farm to school activities, state by state. Seed Change, in Kentucky, Louisiana and Pennsylvania is funded by a generous grant from the Walmart Foundation, and will directly address barriers to farm to school associated with lack of local partnerships and farmer connections, and infrastructure and knowledge gaps. The 18-month project is designed to reach 1.8 million school children in these three states.